Sega Japan still showing Dreamcast support in 2008? {Updated}
Posted by Graham. Filed under G, Japan, News. Tagged with Dreamcast, Fan Stuff.


“Do you still own a Dreamcast?” - That is what Sega Japan is asking the world.
“Why?” is just what you might be asking. To be honest, we are not entirely sure. But Sega Japan appears to have updated its Dreamcast website and has opened up a new sub-site where Dreamcast owners can register, using their Dreamcast’s serial numbers, allowing them access to their own “@user.dreamcast.com” account.
At first I thought it could be some sort of fan/hoax site, but now I’m not sure, as the site content does appear to be fairly legit.
Could it be that Sega is planning some sort of Dreamcast re-release? Are they planning to celebrate the DC’s 10th Birthday? (Though I’m not sure if the dates tally for that). Maybe they are planning on releasing old Dreamcast games? Or perhaps starting up the old Dreamcast servers for online play? Or are they just curious little puppies?
The main point of this is that if Dreamcast fans ever wanted to show their true support for the system, now is the time! By registering your console at the site, we can show Sega Japan just how many Dreamcast owners are still out there!
Hopefully we will get some answers soon enough.
{UPDATE: Ok it seems as though this is a (very believeable) scam. Not sure what the scam is for… but it seems that Dreamcast.com is no longer owned by Sega right now, and the site visited was a Japanese site  running from a shared server in the US - as a result we have taken most of the links out of the post. Here’s a quote from the DCEmu forums, to help explain more:
I forgot to to the most basics of basics when looking into this, I didn’t check if this site was still hosted by SEGA. So I pinged dreamcast.com and lo’ and behold http://72.29.74.51/ was the IP I got. It links to a cPanel set up page. I then pinged SEGA.jp and got the IP 210.174.184.7, SEGA.com: 204.155.67.210, Sonic Team: 202.3.142.231. All SEGA sites are no where near the IP range of dreamcast.com. Running a trace on this IP brings us right back to square one with DimeNoc/dizinc.
http://www.ssukstudios.co.uk/_rubbis…_com_trace.htm for a report from http://visualiptrace.visualware.com/
SEGA.com is run from San Francisco under their own, internal servers. SEGA.jp and Sonicteam.com are run from inside Japan, as you’d expect.So to sum up, it’s a site not on ANY of SEGA’s servers, it’s supposedly a Japanese site running on a shared server in Orlando, emails set out are from a dizinc email address, uses Gmail as a front for a Dreamcast email address, the site poses as an official website (including copyright marks from SEGA). It’s fake, don’t use it. If you have used it, as a few of you have, hope this comes to nothing.
Let’s just hope nothing comes from this. I know quite a few of you guys (including most of our site staff) filled out the registration form, and I just hope that nothing too bad will happen here - maybe just a few more ’Check me out’ or ’Enlarge you Wang’ emails will appear.
Apologies to everyone, though it seems we weren’t the only site that fell for it…Â Yeah doesn’t quite make up for it, but just goes to show how convincing it was.
See the full post on DCEmu, here. Thanks to Dragoon for the update.}
[Source: SegaBoards/Special Thanks: Steve]

Comments on this article
There have been 40 responses to this article.
I signed up but i didn’t get any link in my email to activate my account they just sent my password and username =’(
Sam
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:37 am.
-That’s more than I got!
So far any form of email hasn’t arrived for me.
Graham
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:43 am.
Yeah, I got the confirmation email, but no instructions. Hmmm.
Chris
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:44 am.
I HAVE 3!!!
jopamine
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 5:10 am.
SEGA will relaunch the Dreamcast as competition for the Nintendo Wii
9/9/9 BELIEVE
Aki-at
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 5:16 am.
I just registered and got the confirmation e-mail as well. Oooh this is exciting! ..Or just Sega messing with all of us…
Orta
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 5:52 am.
Huh? This is so annoying! I still haven’t received anything…. :0( Sega doesn’t love me.
Graham
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 6:22 am.
Perhaps they’ve looked at the success of the underpowered Wii and still think there’s a market for a Dreamcast kind of console?
I’ll get my DC number registered up anyway… can’t wait to see what happens with this.
Leaf
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 8:46 am.
Three years later… “Okay, okay, you got us. Here’re Shenmue 3 and another Sonic Adventure.”
maxchain
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 10:05 am.
Well, just got the final email.
They are using google apps, so you will get a gmail-like account under the user.dreamcast.com domain.
The downside, your DC’s serial number is your login, I don’t know how would anyone remember my address… :s
dragoon
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 10:12 am.
SEGA UHUU
paly
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 11:04 am.
Are you sure you have to put your serial number? it looks like a user ID (aka a nick name) to me…
landman
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 11:18 am.
I just registered with my nickname instead of the ID number and also received a confirmation email xd
landman
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 11:25 am.
Got the message as well. I wonder if they’ll approve the account if you register a nickname instead of a SN.
Orta
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 11:41 am.
Someone needs to force Storm to translate it all.
Kogen
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 12:01 pm.
So, Dreamcast games are about to be launched for next gen consoles?
Laurent D.
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 12:25 pm.
Site is now down.
Brandon
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 12:31 pm.
Whow I’m reading some strange conclusions that point at the site as fake, I just hope this is not some macro phishing operation (I hope any of you have used the same mail password in this registration)
landman
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:03 pm.
they did pattent the name Dreamcast2 right? hm, hope they re-sell old dc games
farmer pancho
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:13 pm.
landman, whois search says that http://www.dreamcast.com is registered to Sega corporation.
George
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 4:17 pm.
Ok, that’s a relief
landman
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 5:20 pm.
NiGHTS into Dreamcast, yes?
One can only dream..
Mark
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 6:49 pm.
I wish I could have made it in time…..
soup or man
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 7:19 pm.
ho yes, I love my Dreamcast!!!
Emanuel
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 7:24 pm.
YESSSS
I have two!!!
DRIM FODAUM!
DreamCast forever!!!
Spit-Nick
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 7:38 pm.
Wow, it got digged big time! (1293 diggs as of now) http://digg.com/gaming_news/SEGA_updates_Dreamcast_com_for_DC_s_10th_anniversary
May Sega hear our prayers! =)
dragoon
Posted March 8th, 2008 at 11:06 pm.
It appears also to be a scam
http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=2148030810&postcount=26
shucks :(
dragoon
Posted March 9th, 2008 at 3:50 am.
Yes, a scam.
I could actually tell from the go that it was quite fishy…
Pur
Posted March 9th, 2008 at 3:41 am.
Someone has played with our feelings… someone HAS to pay
landman
Posted March 9th, 2008 at 8:40 am.
Glad it was down when I tried. I’m so disappointed! This sucks, dude. Someone needs to be taken down for this.
On the plus side, if Sega pulls its head out of its butt, they’ll see that we’re still in to the Dreamcast.
Gamerschoice
Posted March 9th, 2008 at 3:50 pm.
we never know…. but i guess that if we try fake or not it will be a huge news and noise tha sega will herd and will know how many people love the whitecast portal to heaven. seriously if it is free why not to try
KEEP THE DREAM ALIVE
alexer
Posted March 9th, 2008 at 5:39 pm.
Because they just want your email address for spam. It’s a lucrative business, y’know.
Pur
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 1:31 am.
Pur - yeah when I first saw it I thought it was kind of weird. But looking at the site pages and the site address - I soon fell for it.
Although I did wonder why some many people were saying its for the 10th Anniversary… as the DCs birthday in Japan isn”t until November.
Oh well I guess the sheer hope of Sega doing something with the Dreamcast again got the better of many of us and we just had to try and see.
Graham
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 2:05 am.
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=dreamcast.com
Santuzzo
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 3:51 am.
I have two Sega Dreamcast… Go SEGA Go >>>
Jonatan L. Raphaelli
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 7:03 am.
I don’t think this stuff about “.dreamcast.com” email address is safe, I’d rather read an official announcement by Sega before giving my address to some spam seller.
Andrea
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 10:23 am.
Lucky for me my Dreamcast doesn’t even fucking have a serial number, else I would’ve joined.
The worst that can happen is a bit of spam in you guys’ inboxes right? Nothing at stake?
Leaf
Posted March 10th, 2008 at 2:35 pm.
If you gave thenm your email AND password, you could be a potential hacking target.
So yes, quite a bit at stake.
Pur
Posted March 11th, 2008 at 10:16 am.
Some official reaction: http://tinyurl.com/3bna9v
dragoon
Posted March 14th, 2008 at 8:13 am.
Bolivia tengo 2 Dreamcast 1 segaSaturn 1 Nomand 1 gameGear 1 masterSystemII 1segaGenesis 1-32X 1 SegaCD 1
wilder
Posted November 17th, 2008 at 4:24 pm.